Ember Burning

Written by Jennifer Alsever ⎮ Narrated by Moira Todd

Author: Jennifer Alsever
Narrator: Moira Todd
Length: 8 hours and 47 minutes
Series: Trinity Forest Series, Book 1
Publisher: Sawatch Publishing
Released: Sep. 7, 2017
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal

Available purchase options for this title (via affiliate links) are located below. Purchasing through them supports Audiobook Empire at no additional cost to yourself.

Synopsis

Author Jennifer Alsever delivers an addictive story ideal for fans of The UgliesWe Were Liars, and Before I Fall about a teen grieving over her parent's tragic death who becomes entangled with a mysterious forest teeming with urban legends of strange disappearances and witchcraft.

Ember Trouve used to be alive, driven to become a musician and on a path to college. That was before her parents died. One day, after venturing into the fabled Trinity Forest, she goes missing. Now, Ember must confront the truth behind her parents' death - or lose herself to the forest forever.

In this fresh and compelling novel, Jennifer Alsever creates a paranormal world of loss, mystery, love, and survival as Ember searches for escape - and a path back to herself. Ember Burning is the first installment of the three-book Trinity Forest series.

This audiobook was provided by its author, Jennifer Alsever, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. Thanks, Jennifer!

Alyssa's Review

4.75 Stars

Ember Burning is a book that will take you on quite an adventure. This story is quite the twist of mind bending through reality. If you like a bit of a trip with some time lapse in between this may be the story for you.

All in all, Jennifer Alsever did a good job when it comes to writing this story. There are a lot of facets to each scene in the story as well as each character. Just when you think you have learned what you didn’t know about the characters there is more. The scenes are described so clearly that you are pretty much there with the characters. Honestly, my real problem is that I really want Ember to see that there is more to her story than what she currently does. I’m kind of in that moment where all I wish to do is shake her. Otherwise I like her and Trey the most so far. The other characters, I’m not the fondest of.

Moira Todd also did a really good job narrating Ember Burning. She really brought the characters and scenes to life. I could feel the highs and lows with Ember. I could also feel the confusing aspects involving Zoey. That emotion is definitely a big deal for me when listening to a story and Moira did an amazing job portraying this.

Overall the production of Ember Burning went off without a hitch. The story flowed rather seamlessly throughout. I felt it was a little slow at times, but for the most part Jennifer always managed to capture my attention again scene after scene. I really hope that Ember gets a grasp on herself and learns how to combat the craziness in her life, but for now I think her journey is truly just now getting started.

Spread the word. Share this post!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.