Thwarted Queen

The Entire Saga, in Four Parts, About the Yorks, Lancasters, and Nevilles, Whose Family Feud Started the Wars of the Roses

Written by Cynthia Sally Haggard⎮ Narrated by Cynthia Sally Haggard

Author: Cynthia Sally Haggard
Narrator: Cynthia Sally Haggard
Length: 15 hours and 29 minutes
Series: Thwarted Queen, Books 1-4
Publisher: Spun Stories Press
Released: Nov. 1, 2019
Genre: Historical Fiction

Available purchase options for this title (via affiliate links) are located below. Purchasing through them supports Audiobook Empire at no additional cost to yourself.


Thwarted Queen, a frustrating tale (hence the title) of Lady Cecylee Neville (1415-1495) who was nearly crowned Queen of England, encompasses Rose of Raby (book one), One Seed Sown (book two), Thwarted Queen (book three), and Two Murders Reaped (book four). It is the entire saga of Lady Cecylee Neville, a portrait of a woman trapped by power, a marriage undone by betrayal, and a king brought down by fear.
It is 1424. Lady Cecylee Neville is nine years old. Her girlhood comes to a sudden end when her father, Ralph Neville, the Earl of Westmorland, locks her up to ensure her betrothal to Richard, Duke of York, takes place.
It is 1441. Cecylee, Duchess of York, is 26 years old. While her husband, Duke Richard, is away fighting the French, Cecylee has a love affair which produces a child (the "one seed" of book two), who becomes King Edward IV. Somehow, Cecylee persuades her husband Richard, Duke of York, to accept this child as his own, even as he has the power to lock her up or dispose of this illegitimate son.
It is 1483. Cecylee, Queen by Right, the king’s mother, is distraught by the news of her son’s sudden death. King Edward IV was only 40 years old and had seemed in good health. He was a strong king who held together various political factions. With his death, all hell broke loose. If this sounds familiar, it may be because season one of Game of Thrones takes its inspiration from the sudden death of a strong king (Robert Baratheon or Edward IV) and the war that broke out between the Starks and the Lannisters, or the Yorks and the Lancasters.
This novel contains many voices, not the least of those the Londoners who forged their own political destiny by engaging in public debate with the powerful aristocrats of the time - Humphrey, Duke of Gloucester (the king’s uncle), Richard, Duke of York (the king’s cousin), and Richard, Earl of Warwick, (known as Warwick the Kingmaker) - and set the stage for American democracy.

Meet the Author: Cynthia Sally Haggard

Cynthia Sally Haggard was born and reared in Surrey, England. About 30 years ago she surfaced in the United States, inhabiting the Mid-Atlantic region as she wound her way through four careers: violinist, cognitive scientist, medical writer, and novelist.

Her first novel, Thwarted Queen, was shortlisted for many awards, including the 2012 Eric Hoffer New Horizon Award for debut authors. To date, sales have surpassed 38,000 copies.

Her second novel, Farewell My Life, a Cinderella-ish tale with not-so-charming princes who inhabit the edgy setting of 1920s Berlin, won a Pinnacle Award (2019) and a Distinguished Favorite (New York City Big Book Awards, 2019).

Spread the word. Share this post!